| Historical Fiction Books |

HIstorical Fiction Books sleuth award winning kari boveeGirl With A Gun

A Historical Fiction Book

First book in the western fiction series

Annie Oakley joins Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show to become an American Icon. But when a string of crimes takes place during their travels, including the murder of her Indian assistant, Annie fears someone is out to get her. With the help of a sassy, blue-blooded reporter, Annie sets out as an amateur sleuth to solve the crimes that threaten her good name.


Buy on Amazon


historical fiction booksShoot Like a Girl

A Historical Fiction Book

Prequel Novella to Girl with a Gun

After the death of her father, it is up to 12-year old Annie Oakley to help support her mother and two younger siblings. Annie thinks she can do this at home, but her mother has other ideas. She sends Annie to the Darke County Infirmary, the local poorhouse, in the hopes that Annie can be trained to work for a loving family to help support her own. After learning the necessary skills, Annie is farmed out to the McCrimmons, a couple in a distant county, to help keep house and take care of their young infant.

Ready to do her part, Annie tries her best to put on a brave face, but as soon as she sets out from the infirmary with Mr. McCrimmon, she quickly learns that life away from home is far worse than she ever expected. Suffering neglect and abuse at the hands of the McCrimmons, whom Annie refers to as the wolves, she perseveres in the hopes of helping her family. Her friendship with Buck, a beautiful buckskin horse, is the only bright spot in Annie’s life.

After a harrowing night at the hands of Mrs. McCrimmon, and no word from her family or the infirmary, Annie resigns herself to a miserable life with the wolves. Either that, or she must take matters into her own hands, and escape. Annie formulates a plan, but when she witnesses Mr. McCrimmon beating Buck nearly to death, Annie decides to take action—no matter what the cost.

In Shoot Like a Girl, Annie Oakley experiences some of life’s most disheartening hardships only to emerge as an empowered young woman who goes on to become an amateur sleuth and America’s most cherished heroine.

Buy on Amazon


A Historical Fiction Book

An Annie Oakley Mystery- Book #2

In the 2nd book in the Annie Oakley Historical Mystery Series, Peccadillo at the Palace, Annie Oakley comes into her own as an amateur sleuth.

With a new lease on life and a new manager, her dashing Irish husband, Frank Butler, Annie Oakley and her beloved Buck the Wonder Horse rejoin the ever-popular Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show. Already renown for her performances with Buck in the United States, Annie receives a surprise invitation from Queen Victoria of England to attend her Golden Jubilee celebration.

During their long journey across the Atlantic, Annie’s escort, an attendant of the Queen, is murdered, and the killer leaves a cryptic note stating that Queen Victoria is next. Annie attempts to find the murderer and believes she is successful. But when they arrive in England and perform for Victoria, an assassination attempt is made on the Queen, and Annie realizes she’s condemned an innocent person. Fingers point to a disgruntled royal servant, but when an attempt is made on Frank’s life a week later, rumors abound about a militant Irish Gang in London.

With the help of socialite Lilly Langtry, the legendary Chief Yellow Shirt, and famous poet Oscar Wilde, Annie sets out to find the murderer who tried to take down her husband, and England’s longest reigning monarch.

Buy on Amazon

Folly at the Fair by Kari Bovee Historical Mystery SeriesFolly at the Fair

Chicago World’s Fair, 1893. “Little Sure Shot” Annie Oakley is exhausted from her work with Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show. But when a fellow performer scuffles with a man who threatens her harm, she has to keep her eyes peeled. And when the man is found dead under the Ferris Wheel, Annie won’t rest until she proves her defender is innocent.

Before she can rustle up any clues, an old friend asks Annie to protect her young daughter. And as more bodies turn up around the grounds, it’s clear there’s a serial murderer on the loose. Annie is going to need all her wits and sharpshooting skills just to stay alive, and to protect those she loves.

Can Annie live up to her reputation and put a bullseye on the killer?

Folly at the Fair is the third book in the Annie Oakley Mystery series. If you like strong heroines, Wild West adventures, and suspenseful twists and turns, then you’ll love this fast-paced whodunit.

Buy on Amazon

A Grace Michelle Mystery- Book #1

New York City, 1920. Grace Michelle has everything she wants: a home, a family, and a future career as a costume designer for famed showman Florenz Ziegfeld, Jr.’s Ziegfeld Follies. Pretty good for a girl who once lived on the streets of New York City. But when her sister, Sophia, the star of the show, is murdered, Grace’s safe and protected life is shattered. Battle-scarred by the war and emotionally scarred by his past, Chet Riker has made it a practice to keep his distance from others; love, after all, leads only to pain. But Chet has a problem—a big one: he’s become indebted to mob-boss Joe Marciano in an attempt to save his estranged mother’s life, and Marciano wants him to pay up or else. Desperate to get the money, he contacts former client Florenz Ziegfeld for work. Soon, Chet finds himself playing bodyguard for introverted Grace, who has reluctantly agreed to be Ziegfeld’s new leading lady—on the condition that Ziegfeld promises to find Sophia’s killer. Upon meeting Grace, Chet quickly finds his hardened theory that love equals pain tested. Grace, meanwhile, is swept up in a life she never wanted as the Follies’ star, and as the pawn in a series of publicity stunts during a transcontinental train trip to California that puts her life at risk. Who would want her and Sophia dead? Together, she and Chet must confront publicity-hungry Florenz Ziegfeld, power-driven Joe Marciano, and their own pasts to find Sophia’s killer—and let themselves love once again.

Buy on Amazon

Bones of the Redeemed- Historical Fiction Books to Read by Kari BovéeBones of the Redeemed

New Mexico, 1952. Archaeology grad student Ruby Delgado is plagued by guilt after losing her son. So when her latest excavation drops her down a sinkhole filled with suspiciously mutilated bodies, she’s driven to bring the murderer to justice. But when digging deeper brings her dangerously close to a sinister religious sect, she could be their next sacrifice…

Discovering some of the victims were crucified, Ruby pushes hard to give the evidence to the authorities. But when her trail crosses the path of a beaten man left for dead in the desert, she realizes she may be the only person who can save the community.

Can Ruby stop the sacrifices and slay her inner demons, or will hers be the next body laid to rest?

Bones of the Redeemed is a hair-raising standalone Southwestern mystery. If you like complex heroines, cult conflict, and hard-won redemption, then you’ll love Kari Bovee’s grisly tale.

Buy on Amazon


Leave a book review for historical mystery author Kari Bovee